Use your OpenAI subscription to create audiobooks (site) turns documents into audio by connecting your own Codex or Claude account plus a speech key, then sending files to PDF TO MP3 for narration. It has a free tier (3,000 words/month) and paid plans from $4.99/week, or you can bring your own AI subscription and pay OpenAI/Google only for speech generation. Below are three alternatives that do the same basic job — document or ebook to spoken audio — at different price points and feature sets.
Comparison
| Product | Free tier | Starts at | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Use your OpenAI subscription to create audiobooks | Yes | $4.99/wk | People who already pay for Codex/Claude and just need a PDF-to-speech pipeline |
| AI Audiobook Narrator | Yes | $9/mo | Writers who need distribution-ready files for Audible, Spotify, Apple Books |
| I generated 70k audiobooks with OpenAI Text-to-Speech | Yes (20 min audio) | $15 (prepaid credits) | Occasional listening, public-domain text, pay-as-you-go use |
| Turn Ebooks into Audiobooks | Yes | Not stated | Voice cloning and multi-language projects beyond audiobooks |
AI Audiobook Narrator
AI Audiobook Narrator (site) converts EPUB, PDF, DOCX or TXT files into narrated audiobooks using 30 AI narrators across 47 languages, with sentence-level editing and output formatted for Audible, Spotify and Apple Books. It suits self-published authors and publishers who need finished, distributable files rather than a raw text-to-speech dump. Pricing is freemium: the free tier allows uploading and editing, and paid plans run $9/month (Go), $29/month (Creator) or $99/month (Max), with 3-50 credits monthly, plus one-time credit packs from $24-$189. The limitation is that credits are capped per plan, so long or multiple books may need a higher tier or extra credit packs.
I generated 70k audiobooks with OpenAI Text-to-Speech
Listenly (site) is an app built around OpenAI's text-to-speech model, originally made to convert Project Gutenberg's public-domain ebooks into audio and now usable for other text too. It suits readers who want to listen to specific books or documents without a subscription commitment, since pricing is pay-as-you-go: Standard voices cost about $1.50/hour, HD voices about $3.50/hour, bought as prepaid credit packages starting at $15, with a free tier covering 20 minutes of Standard-voice audio. The limitation is that the free allowance is small (20 minutes), so any real audiobook-length project requires buying credits.
Turn Ebooks into Audiobooks
Auditus (site) generates AI voiceovers from ebooks and other text using over 1,500 voices in 80+ languages, and also offers voice cloning and studio controls for videos, courses and ads beyond audiobooks. It suits users who want voice variety or cloning options and don't mind a tool built for broader audio content, not just books. The site offers a free tier ("Get started for free") and paid annual plans with a 50% limited-time discount, but exact pricing is not stated. The limitation is that without published prices, you can't compare cost upfront or budget before signing up.
How to choose
If you already pay for Codex or Claude and just need the cheapest way to add narration, the main product's $4.99/week entry point (or bring-your-own-API model) is hard to beat. If you need files ready for Audible or Spotify out of the box, AI Audiobook Narrator's $9/month plan is the next cheapest option with that built in. For occasional or one-off conversions, Listenly's pay-as-you-go credits ($15 minimum) avoid a subscription entirely. If voice cloning or many languages matter more than price certainty, check Auditus directly since its cost isn't published.
FAQ
Is there a truly free way to make an audiobook from these tools? Each tool has a free tier, but limits vary — from 3,000 words/month to 20 minutes of audio — so none is free for a full-length book.
Which option is cheapest for a single short document? Listenly's pay-as-you-go pricing (from $15 prepaid, ~$1.50/hour Standard) avoids a recurring subscription for one-off use.
Do any of these require my own OpenAI account? Yes — the main product requires connecting your own Codex/Claude account and a speech key; the alternatives run their own AI/TTS backends.